Tucson’s Tragedy

January 9, 2011 at 8:58 am (Uncategorized)

We’ve had quite the weekend here in the Old Pueblo. I spent far too long yesterday planted in front of the constant news reports and learning how to type quickly on my iPad as I sent out updates through my Facebook account to all my friends. I also fielded calls from relatives in other places. My mother was a bit frantic in particular, knowing that there is a Safeway less than a mile from our house (the shooting was at a Safeway about 8 miles from us). Ironically I had been avoiding all media yesterday morning so I could get some things done, so I heard about the tragedy from my mother, 2 states away.

It’s not like violence is a stranger in Tucson; we have a higher-than-average crime rate, a result of the drug trade and our proximity to the border. Just a few months ago I woke to the sights and sounds of the SWAT team on my own street, sent to arrest a neighbor for his alleged part in drug trafficking. That ended peacefully, but watching men in body armor carrying assault rifles around in front of my house reminded me that the violence I watch on CSI is very, very real.

But rampage shootings? Those happen in other places.

Well, not anymore.

Today and for many more days to follow, I will be keeping the family and friends of the victims in my thoughts, wishing them healing and peace. I will also continue, as I was before, to be a voice for reasoned debate and respectful disagreement. I believe that, much like the effect of broken windows in a physical environment, when we let the little things slide, we cede the larger battle. Most importantly for myself, I will hug my boys a little tighter and then still let them out into the world in defiance of my own fear.

1 Comment

  1. Tori Nelson said,

    “I will hug my boys a little tighter and then still let them out into the world in defiance of my own fear.”- That is the scariest part of parenting isn’t it? I had the same reaction when I heard about the shootings over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

